Photo: Aljoša Rebolj

Photo: Aljoša Rebolj


Directed by Tomaž Pandur
Produced by Centro Dramático Nacional, Madrid
Opening night: November 21 2014

Fausto, director Tomaž Pandur's unorthodox rendition of Goethe's masterwork, introduces the Mephistopheleses; two generations of passionate, hard-working devils. By turning malice into a family business, Pandur reveals a disconcerting truth: the unpredictability of evil isn't half as terrifying as its reliability. The play features Roberto Enríquez as Faust and Víctor Clavijo as the quirky paterfamilias, Mr. Mephistopheles.

Drawing inspiration from silent films (the play is strewn with references to F. W. Murnau's Faust) and German Volksmusik, Silence wrote a predominantly acoustic, piano-based score. The music combines instruments of the classical period (piano, violoncello) and traditional instruments (zither, cimbalom). The choir also features prominently in the score. In somewhat Mephistophelian fashion, the duet perverted famous choral pieces by sampling and rearranging them.

The music was performed by three remarkable instrumentalists: Dragan Djordjević (cello), Igor Vićentić (piano), and Irena Zdolšek (zither). The piano was recorded by Davor Rocco at the Matica hrvatska in Zagreb. The cello and zither were recorded at Daily Girl, Silence's home studio. The score includes three songs (Der Untergang, Mehr Licht and Frau Mephistopheles), interpreted by actors Emilio Gavira, Alberto Frías, and Ana Wagener. Víctor Clavijo performs Die Leiter on the piano. The play also features music by Werner Richard Heymann.

Fausto marks the 10th collaboration between Pandur and Silence.

01 Die Leiter
02 Verrückter Walzer
03 In der Bach Manier
04 Sturm und Drang
05 Es regnet
06 Es regnet / Celeste Variation
07 Es regnet / Zither Variation
08 Es schneit
09 Der Untergang
10 Mehr Licht
11 Der Gedanke
12 Gretchenfrage / Wiener Sängerknaben
13 Der Wahnsinn
14 Der Marsch
15 Faust-Thema
16 Faust-Thema / Handklatsch Variation
17 Faust-Thema / Zymbal Variation
18 Frau Mephistopheles