Photo: Žiga Koritnik

Photo: Žiga Koritnik


Play / Musical / Puppet show
Directed by Matjaž Pograjc
Produced by Mladinsko Theatre
Opening night: December 4 2008

The quantity, role and complexity of Silence's music draw close to a musical, particularly the songs.

After their plane goes down, Vladimir Putin, Hillary Clinton, Nicolas Sarkozy, Carla Bruni, Dalai Lama, and journalist Christiane Amanpour find themselves in Shakespeare Town, a small cowboy town straight out of the latter half of the 19th century. After meeting the town's peculiar inhabitants, the play's protagonists begin to wonder whether they've truly survived the plane crash.

The bizarre plot of this rambunctious comedy – best described as a cocktail of Shakespeare, cool beer, contemporary politics, and Sergio Leone's films – required an equally lunatic score. Silence turned their attention to some of the quirkiest and wittiest music ever written – 60's and 70's easy listening lounge music. Porn music, if you will. To get it right, the duet studied the works of the undisputed masters of the genre: Armando Trovaioli, Piero Umiliani and, of course, the great Ennio Morricone. The score features nine instrumentals, as well as six songs sung by the play's cast.

The soundtrack was recorded and produced in Silence's private studio, the Daily Girl studio, in October and November 2008.

01 Ms. Sinclair's Song
02 Desert Rose
03 Tiny Meteors' Song
04 Billy, Billy
05 Jackie Bryan's Song
06 Finale

01 Nicolas & Carla
02 Vladimir
03 Hillary
04 Putin's Theme
05 Sheriff's Theme
06 Stories of Old 1
07 Stories of Old 2
08 Stories of Old 3
09 Stories of Old 4